Fact Sheet: President Clinton Accepts German Media Prize (9/20/00)
                              THE WHITE HOUSE

                       Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release                                     September 20,

                                FACT SHEET

               President Clinton Accepts German Media Prize

Today President Clinton accepted the ?1999 Media Peace Prize,? also known
as the German Media Prize.  The prize is awarded annually to a world leader
who achieved press coverage of unusual importance.  According to the Media
Peace Prize jury, the award also recognizes the winner's contribution to a
more peaceful world.

The previous winner was President Nelson Mandela.  Other recent winners
include King Hussein of Jordan, former President Boris Yeltsin, Chairman
Yassir Arafat, and Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin (posthumously).

The Media Peace Prize jury includes representatives of leading German
media.  Members of the jury presented the prize to the President in the
Oval Office.

The following participated in the ceremony: The President;  Samuel R.
Berger; Cameron Munter; Mike and Patricia Cherry; Karlheinz and Nadja
Koegel, Director of Media Prize; Stefan Aust, Editor, Der Spiegel; Mathias
Doepfner, Editor, Die Welt; Patricia Riekel, Editor, Bunte; Wilm Herlyn,
Editor, DPA German News Agency; Hans Mahr Editor, RTL TV;  and Manfred
Bissinger, Editor, Die Woche.

                                   # # #

President and First Lady | Vice President and Mrs. Gore
Record of Progress | The Briefing Room
Gateway to Government | Contacting the White House | White House for Kids
White House History | White House Tours | Help
Privacy Statement


Site Map

Graphic Version

T H E   W H I T E   H O U S E