About the Presidents Committee of Advisors on Science and Technology

Previous | Table of Contents | Next Section

About the Presidents Committee of Advisors on Science and Technology

President Clinton established the President's Committee of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) by Executive Order 12882 in November 1993. The responsibilities of PCAST are “to advise the President on issues involving science and technology and their roles in achieving national goals, and to assist the National Science and Technology Council (NSTC) in securing private sector participation in its activities.” NSTC is a cabinet-level council chaired by the President that coordinates research and development policies and activities across Federal agencies. The formal link between PCAST and NSTC ensures that the private sector perspective is included in the policy-making process.


Neal F. Lane, Assistant to the President for Science and Technology, and Director of the Office of Science and
Technology Policy (Co-chair)

John A. Young, Former President and CEO, Hewlett-Packard Co.(Co-chair)

Norman R. Augustine, Former Chairman and CEO, Lockheed Martin Corporation

Francisco J. Ayala, Donald Bren Professor of Biological Sciences, Professor of Philosophy, University of California-Irvine

John M. Deutch, Institute Professor, Department of Chemistry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Murray Gell-Mann, Professor, Santa Fe Institute;

R.A. Millikan Professor Emeritus of Theoretical Physics, California Institute of Technology

David A. Hamburg, President Emeritus, Carnegie Foundation of New York

John P. Holdren, Teresa and John Heinz Professor of Environmental Policy, John F. Kennedy School of
Government, Harvard University

Diana MacArthur, Chair and CEO, Dynamac Corporation

Shirley M. Malcom, Head, Directorate for Education and Human Resources Programs, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Mario J. Molina, Institute Professor, Department of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Peter H. Raven, Director, Missouri Botanical Garden; Engelmann Professor of Botany, Washington University
in St. Louis

Sally K. Ride, Professor of Physics, University of California- San Diego

Judith Rodin, President, University of Pennsylvania

Charles A. Sanders, Former Chairman, Glaxo-Wellcome Inc.

David E. Shaw, Chairman, D.E. Shaw and Co. and Juno Online Services

Charles M. Vest, President, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Virginia V. Weldon, Center for the Study of American Business, Washington University in St. Louis

Lilian Shiao-Yen Wu, Research Scientist and Consultant, Corporate Technical Strategy Development, IBM


For More Information

President's Committee of Advisors on
Science and Technology
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20502


President and First Lady | Vice President and Mrs. Gore
Record of Progress | The Briefing Room
Gateway to Government | Contacting the White House | White House for Kids
White House History | White House Tours | Help
Privacy Statement


Site Map

Graphic Version

T H E   W H I T E   H O U S E