T H E   W H I T E   H O U S E

The Legislative Branch

Help Site Map Text Only

Gateway to Government

The legislative branch of the federal government consists of the Congress, which is divided into two chambers--the Senate and the House of Representatives. Each member of Congress is elected by the people of his or her state. The House of Representatives, with membership based on state populations, has 435 seats, while the Senate, with two members from each state, has 100 seats. Members of the House of Representatives are elected for two-year terms, and Senators are elected for six-year terms.

The House of Representatives
The Senate
The General Accounting Office
The Government Printing Office
The Library of Congress

President and First Lady | Vice President and Mrs. Gore
Record of Progress | The Briefing Room
Gateway to Government | Contacting the White House
White House for Kids | White House History
White House Tours | Help | Text Only

Privacy Statement