T H E   W H I T E   H O U S E

1998 List of Designated Federal Entities and Federal Entities

Help Site Map Text Only


July 7, 1998


1998 List of Designated Federal Entities and Federal Entities

AGENCY: Office of Management and Budget, Executive Office of the President.

ACTION: Notice

SUMMARY: This notice provides a list of Designated Federal Entities and Federal Entities, as required by the Inspector General Act of 1978 (IG Act), as subsequently amended.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Suzanne Murrin at 202-395-1040 or Jennifer Kim at 202-395-5835, Office of Federal Financial Management, Office of Management and Budget.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: This notice provides a copy of the 1998 List of Designated Federal Entities and Federal Entities, which the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) is required to publish annually under the IG Act.

The List is divided into two groups: Designated Federal Entities and Federal Entities. The Designated Federal Entities are required to establish and maintain Offices of Inspector General. The 29 Designated Federal Entities are as listed in the IG Act, except that those agencies which have ceased to exist have been deleted from the list.

Federal Entities are required to annually report to each House of the Congress and the OMB on audit and investigative activities in their organizations. Federal Entities are defined as "any Government corporation (within the meaning of section 103(1) of title 5, United States Code), any Government controlled corporation (within the meaning of section 103(2) of such title), or any other entity in the Executive Branch of the government, or any independent regulatory agency" other than the Executive Office of the President and agencies with statutory Inspectors General. There are 3 deletions and 1 addition in the 1998 Federal Entities list from the 1997 list published in the April 30, 1997, Federal Register.

The 1998 Designated Federal Entities and Federal Entities List was prepared in consultation with the U.S. General Accounting Office.

G. Edward DeSeve
Acting Deputy Director
for Management

Herein follows the text of the 1998 List of Designated Federal Entities and Federal Entities:

1998 List of Designated Federal Entities and Federal Entities

The IG Act, as subsequently amended, requires OMB to publish a list of "Designated Federal Entities" and "Federal Entities" and the heads of such entities. Designated Federal Entities were required to establish Offices of Inspector General before April 17, 1989. Federal Entities are required to report annually to each House of the Congress and the Office of Management and Budget on audit and investigative activities in their organizations.


1. Amtrak - Chairperson

2. Appalachian Regional Commission - Federal Co-Chairperson

3. The Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System - Chairperson

4. Commodity Futures Trading Commission - Chairperson

5. Consumer Product Safety Commission - Chairperson

6. Corporation for Public Broadcasting - Board of Directors

7. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission - Chairperson

8. Farm Credit Administration - Chairperson

9. Federal Communications Commission - Chairperson

10. Federal Election Commission - Chairperson

11. Federal Housing Finance Board - Chairperson

12. Federal Labor Relations Authority - Chairperson

13. Federal Maritime Commission - Chairperson

14. Federal Trade Commission - Chairperson

15. Legal Services Corporation - Board of Directors

16. National Archives and Records Administration - Archivist of the United States

17. National Credit Union Administration - Board of Directors

18. National Endowment for the Arts - Chairperson

19. National Endowment for the Humanities - Chairperson

20. National Labor Relations Board - Chairperson

21. National Science Foundation - National Science Board

22. Panama Canal Commission - Chairperson

23. Peace Corps - Director

24. Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation - Chairperson

25. Securities and Exchange Commission - Chairperson

26. Smithsonian Institution - Secretary

27. Tennessee Valley Authority - Board of Directors

28. United States International Trade Commission - Chairperson

29. United States Postal Service - Board of Governors


1. Advisory Council on Historic Preservation - Chairperson

2. African Development Foundation - Chairperson

3. American Battle Monuments Commission - Chairperson

4. Architectural and Transportation Barriers Compliance Board - Chairperson

5. Armed Forces Retirement Home - Board of Directors

6. Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation - Chairperson

7. Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board - Chairperson

8. Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation - Chairperson

9. Commission for the Preservation of America's Heritage Abroad - Chairperson

10. Commission of Fine Arts - Chairperson

11. Commission on Civil Rights - Chairperson

12. Committee for Purchase from People Who Are Blind or Severely Disabled - Chairperson

13. Court of Veterans Appeals - Chief Judge

14. Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board - Chairperson

15. Export-Import Bank - President and Chairperson

16. Farm Credit System Financial Assistance Corporation - Chairperson

17. Farm Credit System Insurance Corporation - Board of Directors

18. Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council Appraisal Subcommittee - Chairperson

19. Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service - Director

20. Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission - Chairperson

21. Federal Retirement Thrift Investment Board - Chairperson

22. Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation - Chairperson

23. Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development - Chairperson

24. Institute for Museum and Library Services - Board of Directors

25. Inter-American Foundation - Chairperson

26. James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation - Chairperson

27. Japan-U.S. Friendship Commission - Chairperson

28. Marine Mammal Commission - Chairperson

29. Merit Systems Protection Board - Chairperson

30. Morris K. Udall Scholarship and Excellence in National Environmental Policy Foundation - Chairperson

31. National Capital Planning Commission - Chairperson

32. National Commission on Libraries and Information Science - Chairperson

33. National Council on Disability - Chairperson

34. National Education Goals Panel - Chairperson

35. National Endowment for Democracy - Chairperson

36. National Mediation Board - Chairperson

37. National Science Foundation/Arctic Research Commission - Chairperson

38. National Transportation Safety Board - Chairperson

39. Neighborhood Reinvestment Corporation - Chairperson

40. Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board - Chairperson

41. Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission - Chairperson

42. Office of Government Ethics - Director

43. Office of Navajo and Hopi Indian Relocation - Chairperson

44. Office of Special Counsel - Special Counsel

45. Office of the Nuclear Waste Negotiator - Negotiator

46. Offices of Independent Counsel - Independent Counsels

47. Overseas Private Investment Corporation - Board of Directors

48. Postal Rate Commission - Chairperson

49. Selective Service System - Director

50. Smithsonian Institution/John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts - Chairperson

51. Smithsonian Institution/National Gallery of Art - Board of Trustees

52. Smithsonian Institution/Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars - Board of Trustees

53. State Justice Institute - Director

54. Trade and Development Agency - Director

55. U.S. Enrichment Corporation - Chairperson

56. U.S. Holocaust Memorial Council - Chairperson

57. U.S. Institute of Peace - Chairperson

The Budget  |  Legislative Information  |  Management Reform/GPRA
Grants Management
Financial Management  |  Procurement Policy  |  Information & Regulatory Policy
Contact the White House Web Master

Privacy Statement